Africana / Black Studies

Provides full text and abstracts of journal and newspaper articles and book reviews in many disciplines including Physical Sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Art, Theology, Literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 and transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs. Coverage: 1980 – present. [GaleNet]

For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. It currently offers fully searchable digital facsimiles of nearly 2,000 titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony and death notices and more.

The American Antiquarian Society (A.A.S.) Historical Periodicals provides digital access to more than 6,500 historical publications published between 1684 and 1912. AAS Historical Periodicals documents American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. These specialized collections cover health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, business and industry, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

"Black Life in America"—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no textbook or other online resource can match. By offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day, this multi-disciplinary resource is crucial for the study and interpretation of historical and current events.

This resource is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Africana and Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and life experiences of different ethnic groups in America. "Ethnic Diversity Source" provides full text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.

Provides the full text of journal articles covering the areas of African-American Studies, Ancient History & Classics, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Business, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. Coverage: rolling window, varies - 4-6 years from current issue.

Contains four primary source databases, comprising of World News Research Collection (electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, 1992-present); America’s Historical Imprints (searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera, 1639-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers (searchable American newspapers, 1690-1980); and Hispanic American Newspapers (searchable Hispanic newspapers from 14 states, 1808-1980).

Full text database with nearly 3,000 publications, many of them peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes: applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.

SocINDEX with Full Text is a research database covering sociology and related disciplines: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Coverage includes: 620 active full-text peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.