Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro to Library Research

This guide is a starting point for doing research at Wardman Library, finding and evaluating scholarly resources, and getting additional writing help.

Where to Start: Scholarly Articles

The following general databases are multidisciplinary and cover a broad range of subject areas. If you're not sure where to begin, we recommend one of these:

Where to Start: Newspapers

The following databases provide access to national and international newspapers:

Wardman Library Databases

Wardman Library provides access to a number of general, interdisciplinary, and subject-specific databases.

There are multiple ways to find scholarly peer-reviewed articles through our electronic resources.

1. dubSearch: Conduct a search for a topic of your choice. After seeing the results page, on the left, under Refine Results and Source Types, click Academic Journals. This will filter material from other sources such as books, periodicals, etc. 

2. Databases A-Z: An alphabetized collection of our databases. On the top of the page, these can be searched by Subject, Database type, Vender, or by searching a word or phrase. 

3. Journal Titles A-Z: Browse journals by discipline or via search. 

4. Google Scholar: After conducting a search, look to the right to see if the article is available online. 

5. Interlibrary Loan (ILL): If you cannot find a particular article, you can make an ILL request. After logging in and making the request, the article will be sent to your inbox. It typically takes around a week or less, depending on availability.