Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse our journal titles
Try Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Off Campus Access
If you are off campus, you can still access research databases. Your my.whittier username and password allows you to access databases from home.
Databases & Journals
Browse through our list of databases and online resources by subject or alphabetically .
Online resources provide access to full-text journal articles and in-depth indexing to make it easy to find articles in your subject area. Access is available on and off-campus.
If you cannot find full-text articles in our databases, you also have access to most journal articles in the U.S. through interlibrary loan requests.
Searching for Journal Articles@Whittier
Find Books, Articles & More
If you're looking for Academic (Peer-Reviewed) material, click on these boxes under Refine Results on the left hand side.
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. May take up to two weeks to arrive. You will be emailed when we receive the article.
I Can't Find the Full-Text. What Now?
So you found the perfect article but the source you are searching only gave you the abstract or the citation. What now? Do you have to search every single database the library owns for just one article? Absolutely not! Use the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library owns the full text of an article. Follow the steps below to find the full text.
- Look up the journal title using the Journal Titles A – Z list. If full text is available electronically, you can follow the link to the database containing the journal. If full text is available in print, you can follow the Wardman Print Journals link to see the physical holdings. Note: All print journals are located on the 2nd floor in ABC order.
- Copy and paste the article title into Google Scholar. Sometimes you can find the full text freely available online.
- If the first two steps are unsuccessful, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form.