Examining the emergence of a multilayered national consumer market, and Black pushback against a modernizing version of white supremacy, Hale shows how racial identity is quite literally “made,” inviting modern readers to envision ways to unmake it.
Through individual stories, essays, and critical analyses, this anthology introduces issues of race, class, and gender within an interdisciplinary framework.
Cowie engages the reader in a fascinating look at popular culture to reveal the ways in which a coherent white, working-class male identity fell apart, a process that contributed to the overall decline in organized labor’s power in this crucial decade.
This book is a brilliant collection of essays highlighting “race rebels,” where Kelley looks outside of traditional politics and organized movements to find Black resistance to forces such as white supremacy, labor exploitation, and war.
SocINDEX with Full Text is a research database covering sociology and related disciplines: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Coverage includes: 620 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
Provides full text and abstracts of journal and newspaper articles and book reviews in many disciplines including Physical Sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Art, Theology, Literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 and transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs. Coverage: 1980 – present. [GaleNet]
Full text database with nearly 3,000 publications, many of them peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes: applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and life experiences of different ethnic groups in America. "Ethnic Diversity Source" provides full text access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Contains four primary source databases, comprising of World News Research Collection (electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, 1992-present); America’s Historical Imprints (searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera, 1639-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers (searchable American newspapers, 1690-1980); and Hispanic American Newspapers (searchable Hispanic newspapers from 14 states, 1808-1980).
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. An intuitive interface offers quick discovery across all content types and a collaborative workspace.
HLIA is an easy to use online resource that presents coverage of the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Series 1: 1704-1942; Series 2: 1943-2009
"Black Life in America"—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no textbook or other online resource can match. By offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day, this multi-disciplinary resource is crucial for the study and interpretation of historical and current events.
Swank partners with the best movie studios in the world and brings more movies and TV shows to more people and places, creating one extraordinary experience after another.
The Journal of Marriage and Family has been the leading research journal in the family field for more than 75 years and is consistently the most highly cited journal in Family Science.
The Journal of Youth and Adolescence is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary academic journal covering all aspects of youth and adolescence, including psychology and criminology.
Race, Gender & Class reviews essays on books or films, autobiographies, essays, data sets, theories, stories, field work studies, and letters to the journal promoting interdisciplinary and multicultural studies focusing on race, gender and class intersection issues.
Family Relations is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the National Council on Family Relations. It covers applied research on family studies and social work.
The American Journal of Public Health is a public health journal published by the American Public Health Association that covers health policy and public health.
The journal is peer reviewed and committed to publishing high quality research on substantive issues of fundamental importance to the study of society.
Sociology Compass is an international journal publishing peer-reviewed research articles and surveys of current research from across the entire discipline, with the aim of providing topical and significant research on a monthly basis.
Ethnic and Racial Studies is a peer-reviewed social science academic journal that publishes scholarly articles and book reviews on anthropology, cultural studies, ethnicity and race, and sociology.
The Sociological Review is an academic journal covering all aspects of sociology, including anthropology, criminology, philosophy, education, gender, medicine, and organization.
Law & Society Review is a peer-reviewed academic journal in the field of law and society, which is part of the larger field known as the sociology of law.
The Sociological Quarterly is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering all areas of sociology and publishes both quantitative and qualitative research.
Sociologists in action on inequalities : race, class, gender, and sexuality by 
Making Whiteness by 
Experiencing Race, Class, and Gender in the United States by 
Stayin' Alive by 
Race Rebels by 
Homeward Bound by 
Women, Race and Class by