Research Guides: Sociology: Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Textbook Collections

BC OpenEd
The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it.
Free Sociology Textbooks
Introduction to Sociology, and Sociology of the Family textbooks.
Lumen Learning
Boundless provides one textbook that covers a variety of interrelated sociological topics including, Stratification, Inequality, and Social Class in the U.S., Deviance, Social Control, and Crime, Family, Aging, and Sexuality.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
The National Academies Press (NAP)
This resource provides textbooks on various behavioral and social science topics.All of the books on the National Academies Press site are available as freely downloadable PDFs.
OER Commons
OER Commons provides a curated collection of Sociology textbooks and resources.
OpenStax
Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course.
Open Textbook Library
This collection offers a variety of various Sociological texts including, 'Understanding an Changing the Social World', and 'Social Problems: Continuity and Change'.
Project Gutenberg - Sociology Bookshelf
Project Gutenberg's list of Sociology books in the public domain that are available freely online.
Sociological Landscapes - Theories, Realities and Trends
This academic textbook presents sociology as terrain that one can virtually traverse and experience.

Open Textbook Library

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.

Open Library

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Read, borrow, and discover more than 3M books for free.

Lever Press

Lever Press is a scholarly press supported by more than 50 liberal arts institutions. It publishes peer-reviewed, born-digital, open access monographs at no cost.

Open Resource Links

Southern Poverty Law Center
This web site includes comprehensive documents on hate crimes across the USA. The Southern Poverty Law Center reports hundreds of active hate groups in the United States. This is something everyone needs to be aware of. Do you know what is in your backyard? Check it out. This is an excellent site for course assignments and or discussion in all fields of study.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Sociological Cinema
The Sociological Cinema is an online resource to help sociology instructors incorporate videos into their classes.
Sociology Source
Resources and Ideas for Teaching Sociology from Nathan Palmer.
Statistics - Open Intro
A college-level textbook covering data basics, probability (optional), distributions, inference for means and proportions, and regression, including multiple and the basics of logistic regression.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Project Gutenberg: Free eBooks

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.