Research Guides: Sociology: SOC 246: Sociology of Health and Medicine

Sociology of Health and Medicine

eBooks

The Prescription Drug Abuse Epidemic: Incidence, Treatment, Prevention, and Policy by Ty S. Schepis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440852657
Publication Date: 2018-06-21
This volume seeks to answer the call for richer, more diverse understandings of disability through questions about narrative frameworks in disability research. Narrative is a omnipresent meaning-producing communication form in social life that is both cultural and personal.
Good sport : why our games matter and how doping undermines them by Thomas H. Murray
ISBN: 0190687991
Publication Date: 2018
Performance-enhancing drugs distort the connection between natural talents, the dedication to perfect those talents, and success in sport. Through understanding the fundamental role of values and meanings, we can see not just what we champion in the athletic arena but more broadly what we value in human achievement.
Sexual and Gender Minority Health by Brea L. Perry (Editor); Allen J. LeBlanc (Editor)
ISBN: 9781838671464
Publication Date: 2021-01-15
This volume of Advances in Medical Sociologyshowcases rich theoretical and empirical contributions on SGM health and wellbeing. The chapters address a variety of topics, drawing from classic and contemporary sociological frameworks and constructs, and reflecting intersecting interdisciplinary approaches to SGM health.
New Narratives of Disability by Sara E. Green (Editor); Donileen R. Loseke (Editor)
ISBN: 9781839091438
Publication Date: 2019-11-25
This volume seeks to answer the call for richer, more diverse understandings of disability through questions about narrative frameworks in disability research. Narrative is a omnipresent meaning-producing communication form in social life that is both cultural and personal.
Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Other Social Characteristics As Factors in Health and Health Care Disparities by Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld (Editor)
ISBN: 9781839827983
Publication Date: 2020-09-28
Looking specifically at the factors that impact race and ethnicity in a US context, gender issues, hospitals and health care spending, and research from India. Chapters focus on linkages to health disparities among races, health experiences for incarcerated women and issues of hospital and health care spending.

Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a research database covering sociology and related disciplines: gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Coverage includes: 620 active full-text peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides the full text of journal articles covering the areas of African-American Studies, Ancient History & Classics, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Business, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics. Coverage: rolling window, varies - 4-6 years from current issue.
Science Direct: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
This database provides full text access to over 900 peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biology, biomedical science, and related life sciences. Coverage: 1995 – current. [ScienceDirect]
Academic Onefile
Provides full text and abstracts of journal and newspaper articles and book reviews in many disciplines including Physical Sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Art, Theology, Literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 and transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs. Coverage: 1980 – present. [GaleNet]
OmniFile Full Text Select
Full text database with nearly 3,000 publications, many of them peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes: applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
is a comprehensive database concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This database can be searched independently, but also allows users from subscribing institutions to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. These citations may be linked to articles from 400 full-text journals contained within Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection.

News Databases

Newsbank Newsfile Collection
Contains four primary source databases, comprising of World News Research Collection (electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, 1992-present); America’s Historical Imprints (searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera, 1639-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers (searchable American newspapers, 1690-1980); and Hispanic American Newspapers (searchable Hispanic newspapers from 14 states, 1808-1980).
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. An intuitive interface offers quick discovery across all content types and a collaborative workspace.

Movies & TV Shows

Swank Digital Campus
Swank partners with the best movie studios in the world and brings more movies and TV shows to more people and places, creating one extraordinary experience after another.

Peer-reviewed Journals

Sociology of health & illness
Sociology of Health & Illness is a peer-reviewed academic journal that covers the sociological aspects of health, illness, medicine, and health care.
Journal of Health & Social Behavior
Journal of Health and Social Behavior (JHSB), published quarterly, is a medical sociology journal that publishes empirical and theoretical articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health and illness and the organization of medicine and health care.
Social Science & Medicine
Social Science & Medicine is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering social science research on health, including anthropology, economics, geography, psychology, social epidemiology, social policy, sociology, medicine and health care practice, policy, and organization.
Health & Place
Health & Place is a bimonthly peer-reviewed public health journal covering the relationship between geographic location and health.
Culture, Health & Sexuality
Culture, Health & Sexuality is a peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary academic journal that publishes multidisciplinary articles analyzing the relationship between sexuality, culture, and health; health beliefs and systems; social structures and divisions, and the implications of these for sexual health and individual, collective, and community wellbeing.
AIDS Care
AIDS Care is a peer-reviewed medical journal publishing HIV/AIDS research from multiple different disciplines, including psychology and sociology.
The British Journal of Social Work
The British Journal of Social Work is a peer-reviewed academic journal with a focus on social work in the UK.
Journal of Family Theory and Review
The Journal of Family Theory and Review is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the National Council on Family Relations.
Children & Society
Children & Society is a peer-reviewed academic journal publishing high quality research and debate on all aspects of childhood and policies and services for children and young people children and young people.
Learning Disabilities Research and Practice
Learning Disabilities Research & Practice (LDRP) publishes articles addressing the nature and characteristics of children and adults with learning disabilities and/or attention deficits, program development, assessment, and instruction-- not limited to academic subjects. LDRP provides valuable information to professionals involved in a variety of disciplines including special education, school psychology, counseling, reading, and health sciences.

CDC Reports (Open Access)

MMWR Recommendations and Reports
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.

CDC Reproductive Health: Teen Pregnancy

CDC Teen Pregnancy provides information about teen pregnancy, health care providers and resources, projects and initiatives, parent/guardian resources, program tools, related data, links, and publications.