Research Guides: Economics: Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible, openly licensed text, media, and other digital assets that are useful for teaching, learning, and assessing as well as for research purposes. Please check the LibGuide for OER to have more information.

TED Ed in Economics

TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world.

Open Textbook Collections

CoreEcon
Teaching economics as if the last three decades had happened. Open Access introductory text for undergraduates. Registration is required but it is easy to do. Text is available as printable PDFs or as an Inkling app for the iPad.
Lumen Learning
Lumen Learning provides a textbook on Economics that covers various chapters such as Economic Growth, Challenges to Efficient Outcomes, and Unemployment.
MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
OER Commons
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Economic studies.
OpenStax College
Open Stax provides a collection of textbooks on Principles of Economics, Principles of Microeconomics and Principles of Macroeconomics.
Open Textbook Library
From the University of Minnesota, this collection of e-textbooks includes books on economic analysis, microeconomics, and more. The books are openly licensed, complete, and suitable for adoption. There is also a paid option for students who want to get a print edition.

Open Resource Links

Economics Network
We aim to enhance the quality of learning and teaching throughout the Higher Education economics community.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Open Economics Resource
The Open Economics Working Group is run by the Open Knowledge Foundation in association with the Centre for Intellectual and Property Law (CIPIL) at the University of Cambridge.
Snag Films
Film offers us a powerful tool to raise awareness of important issues not covered by the mainstream news. Our goal is to provide citizens with the information and perspectives essential to creating a more just, sustainable, and democratic society.

Open Library

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Read, borrow, and discover more than 3M books for free.

Open Textbook Library

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.

Econlib

Econlib is dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty through its innovative website. Our original content explores these subjects in a variety of ways to help people understand and apply these concepts in their work and education.