INTD 100: INSECTS--INFORMATION LITERACY WORKSHOP Prof. David Mbora: Sept. 2018
Research Help: refer to the “Biology” Research Guide
1. Information Resources Overview
A. Primary vs Secondary Sources
B. Popular and Scholarly Materials (i.e., academic or professional journals)
C. "Peer Reviewed" – a scholarly editorial process
2. Intro to Search Engines: Google vs Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
A. Sample Search “insect habitat" on both Google; then Google Scholar
1. Wikipedia
2. What is Professor Mbora’s opinion of Wikipedia?
a. Mbora- “NO, Wikipedia articles are not appropriate for my research seminar.”
3. Should you cite Wikipedia articles in your research paper?
B. Examine a Google Scholar article that is available in full text:
1. Are Google search results different from Google Scholar results?
2. Is this article a primary or secondary source?
3. PDF or HTML?
4. See “Related Articles”
3. Finding Scholarly Journal Articles:
A. DubSearch "EBSCO Discovery Service--EDS"—select “Advanced Search”
1. Search "insect habitat”
a. Most useful Limits:
1. “Peer Reviewed”
2. “English language”
3. Date (current issues = 2013-2018)
4. Retrieving Articles
A. ILL Request
B. Limit to “Full Text”. Save options: print; e-mail; download; shared drive
1. "Content Provider"— (lower left corner of Search Results screen) provides level of database activity
a. “Science Direct” is the best biology resource (retrieval by “Download”)
b. Other recommended databases (use “Database A-Z”): Wiley Journals Database; Academic One File
3. Search topic keywords: insects; habitat loss; fragmentation; response to habitat loss; response to habitat fragmentation.
A. Research question #1: What are the effects of habitat loss and fragmentation on insects?
B. Research question #2: How do insects respond to habitat loss and fragmentation?
C. Find five primary source articles from these two questions
D. Format: example = D.N.M. Mbora and M.A. McPeek. 2009. Host density and human activities mediate increased parasite prevalence and richness in primates threatened by habitat loss and fragmentation. Journal of Animal Ecology, 79: 2010 -2018.
Upload your list of articles at the link provided on Moodle by 5:00 pm, Friday, September 28, 2018.
Also Recommended: KANOPY streaming video service offers 25,000 films and videos, including award-winning documentaries, cult film classics, and Criterion Collection films. Access Kanopy from the “Find Books (and Electronic Books, or Films)” page.
Joseph Dmohowski
Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian
Wardman Library
Office: 562-907-4246
Sept. 28, 2018
