Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible, openly licensed text, media, and other digital assets that are useful for teaching, learning, and assessing as well as for research purposes.
TED Ed in Political Science
TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world.
Open Textbook Collections
BC Open Textbooks
The B.C. Open Textbook Project provides featured textbooks for Political Science.
Online open textbook on political science in the U.S.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
National Academies Press - Industry and Labor
All of the books on the National Academies Press site are available as freely downloadable PDFs.
OER Commons provides a curated collection of political science textbooks and resources.
Project Gutenberg - Politics Bookshelf
Project Gutenberg's list of Politic works in the public domain that are available freely online.
Open Resource Links
Civil Rights History Project
The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide variety of topics within the civil rights movement, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists.
DPLA - Battle on the Ballot: Political Outsiders in US Presidential Elections
This exhibition explores the rich history of select individuals, parties, events, and movements that have influenced US presidential elections from the outside—outside Washington politics, outside the two-party system, and outside the traditional conception of who can be an American president.
Southern Poverty Law Center
This web site includes comprehensive documents on hate crimes across the USA. The Southern Poverty Law Center reports hundreds of active hate groups in the United States. This is something everyone needs to be aware of. Do you know what is in your backyard? Check it out. This is an excellent site for course assignments and or discussion in all fields of study.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive: Digital Library
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
Memrise - Politics
Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.
Political Database of the Americas
The mission of the Political Database of the Americas is to contribute to the study, promotion and strengthening of democracy in the hemisphere, through the collection, systematization, dissemination, and exchange of information, data, statistics, and institutions from a political perspective, comparative studies; and other resources relevant to the 35 countries of the region.
Statistics - Open Intro
A college-level textbook covering data basics, probability (optional), distributions, inference for means and proportions, and regression, including multiple and the basics of logistic regression.
Snag Films has over 2,000 movies, TV show episodes, eye-opening documentaries. Search keywords to find related political films and documentaries.
Open Library is an online project intended to create "one web page for every book ever published". Open Library is a project of the Internet Archive, and it provides online digital copies in multiple formats, created from images of much public domain, out-of-print, and in-print books.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is a growing collection of electronic textbooks covering many academic subject areas, including Business, Mathematics, Science, Humanities and Foreign Languages, and the Social Sciences. The purpose of the Open Textbook Library is to provide free access to textbooks, to reduce student expenditures. All textbooks are complete, have open copyright licenses, and are freely available to faculty and students. Many of the textbooks have been reviewed by faculty from other institutions of higher education.