Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wardman Library : Support during COVID-19: General Library Services

General information

Here is a short video introduction to the Library's services during this current period.

Please refer here for the latest information on the impact of COVID-19 on the Whittier College campus.

Wardman Library is committed to supporting students and faculty with continued access to information resources and research consultations. This page will provide updates on the status of on-campus and remote library services in response to this changing situation.  For general questions, please refer to our Ask the Library page.  

  • Returning students: The due date for Wardman Library books was extended to September 9th.  You can choose to renew these books or return them to the library.  You can return the books by either shipping them to the library or leaving them in the Book Drop which is located immediately to the left of the main library entrance (looks like a mail slot).

  • If you borrowed a Link+ book or interlibrary loan book, the due date may be different.  Please contact us so we can work with you on getting the book back to its original library. 

Access to print materials

Circulation: Checking out books will be available but entering the library to “browse the collection” will not be possible.  Please use this request form to request books. If you request a book, staff will retrieve it, check it out to your account, and coordinate a day/time for you to come and pick it up at the service entrance. Local students are encouraged to pick up their book requests.  For students who cannot come to campus, as a trial for the fall modules, we will ship the books to your home. If you have any questions, contact library@whittier.edu.  When you are done with a book, you can return the book by either shipping it back to the library or leaving it int he Book Drop which is located immediately to the left of the main entrance (looks like a mail slot). 

Scan & Deliver: Faculty may put a book on course reserve in case students need to access portions of a text.  The Library will not check out books on course reserves.  You can request a scan from a course reserve book OR any other book in the print collection.  Please use this form to make a scan request.  Faculty should use this scan request form if they would like the full class to read a specific selection from a course reserve. Due to copyright, we are limited to scanning and sending a small portion (e.g. a chapter).  We cannot scan and email full texts of books.  

Interlibrary Loan/Link+: Due to constraints related to other libraries, interlibrary loan and Link+ will be limited.  Requested articles and book chapters will continue to be fulfilled electronically.  Books may be requested but are only available for in-person pick up.  The Library cannot ship materials from other libraries to personal addresses.  For more information, contact: library@whittier.edu.

Research Resources

Access to Information Resources: Visit https://www.whittier.edu/library for remote access to electronic resources, including journal articles and e-books. Access to the Library for print reserve materials, print collections, physical media, or archives and special collections will be severely limited, so instructors are encouraged to replace physical resources with digital resources where possible, using materials that are available in the Library’s full-text databases or open access. Library resources can be linked directly from Moodle.

Research help and consultation: Start with the Ask the Librarian page to identify the librarian with the needed subject expertise. If you are unsure, you can always, email reference@whittier.edu and we’ll be sure to get the question to the right librarian. We can meet with you over chat, email, or Zoom. In addition, the Library will hold workshops throughout the year.  The following workshops were previously recorded but provide helpful information on the research process:

Technology, Video, & Moodle

Technology Lending: The Library will be unable to loan technology during this period.  The College has a limited number of laptops and hot spots available for use during the current academic year. Students in need of equipment or software to successfully complete coursework may request it by using the online form.

Streaming video optionsIf a professor seeks to use a film in their class, we encourage them to contact us as soon sa possible to determine if it is possible.  Our streaming video options are limited and we may not be able to license every film request. Please contact David McCaslinJoe Dmohowski, or review this guide on our film/video resources collections.

Moodle: Be sure to check in with your courses through Moodle (log in with your my.whittier credentials) as well as your academic advisor. If you have any questions about Moodle, contact moodle@whittier.edu.  It is also a good idea to consistently review your DegreeWorks page; especially prior to scheduling courses.