Gender Studies: Additional Resources

The FMF is a cutting edge organization dedicated to women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence.

For 25 years, GLAAD has worked with news, entertainment and social media to bring culture-changing stories of LGBT people into millions of homes and workplaces every day.

NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society.

NWSA is a professional organization dedicated to leading the field of women's studies and gender studies, as well as its teaching, learning, research, and service.

Made up of parents, families, friends, and straight allies united with people who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT), PFLAG is committed to advancing equality and societal acceptance of LGBT people through its threefold mission of support, education and advocacy.

Founded in 1980, HRC advocates on behalf of LGBT Americans, mobilizes grassroots actions in diverse communities, invests strategically to elect fair-minded individuals to office and educates the public about LGBT issues.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

A non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.

A collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. It contains digitizations of a small number of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' collection.

One of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labour movement in particular. Women's roles in social movements are documented in IISH archival and manuscript collections. The Institute provides information on women's and gender history information worldwide.

The Jewish Women's Archive documents Jewish women's stories, elevates their voices, and inspires them to be agents of change.

The scope of the collections of ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is international, with a special focus on the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender history of Los Angeles.

Digitized images and documents from the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College.

A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

Individual digitized images and documents from the Sophia Smith Collection are displayed throughout the web site. Check out the online exhibits and projects found here, which include a vast collection of oral histories.

The main purposes of this virtual library are to list women's history institutions and organizations, locate archival and library collections, and provide links to Internet resources on women's history

A selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.