Research Guides: English Language and Literature: Reference Sources

What is a Reference Source?

"Reference works" is an overall term for resources that take an introductory approach to a particular subject and are meant to be consulted for definite items of information (rather than being read consecutively like you would read a novel). These generally include:

encyclopedias
introductory texts
dictionaries
atlases
almanacs
handbooks
biographical sources
indexes

Reference works are usually written by scholars and contain the essential information you ought to know before beginning more detailed research. Note: The term "reference works" is also sometimes used to refer to items that cannot be checked out from the library.

For more information, see our Intro to Library Research guide.

How to Use an Online Reference Source

Reference resources are organized in a way that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc). Most include an index which will direct you to the appropriate section. Tips for searching:

Decide on your search terms
Try searching with them
If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea

Things to watch out for:

Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information? You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelevant if you are searching the full-text.
Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.

About this page

With the exception of the first section (Dictionaries and terminology), and the last (American), this selection of digital and print reference works at Wardman Library is arranged topically and chronologically by period; the links within each box are arranged alphabetically by title:

Dictionaries and terminology
Medieval
Early modern
Eighteenth century (including Romanticism)
Nineteenth century
Modernism
Contemporary (including Postcolonial)
American

Please note that these reference works (sometimes called "tertiary sources") should be utilized at the beginning of a project in order to guide subsequent research. Generally, although reference works should be noted in a "works consulted" list, they are not considered works worthy of citation, but will lead a researcher to appropriate secondary and primary sources that are.

Dictionaries and terminology

Return to top menu

The Cambridge History of English and American Literature (online)
Call Number: No call number
A dictionary of literary terms and literary theory / Cuddon
Call Number: Ref PN41 .C83
English Language Reference (Oxford Reference Online)
Call Number: No call number.
Comprising: A Dictionary of Abbreviations; The Oxford Dictionary of Abbreviations; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology; The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar; Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms; Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language; A New Dictionary of Eponyms; The Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics; The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang; The Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs; The Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion; Oxford Dictionary of Rhymes; The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction; The New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors; The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style; Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage; The Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (online)
Call Number: No call number
A my.whittier user name and password are required.
Oxford English Dictionary (online)
Call Number: Ref PE1625 .O87
Links directly to the online OED; a my.whittier username and password are required.