TIPS FOR "BIO BASES" ONLINE SEARCHES IN PSYCINFO & PSYCARTICLES: SAMPLE SEARCH
I. Access Library Home Page--select "Find Books & Articles" - "Search Databases"
A. Choose "Psychology" under "Database by Subject"
1. Open "Psychology" database selections
2. Click "PsycINFO"
B. Topic = "Parkinson's Disease" and "Treatment"
1. Select "Advanced Search"
2. Add "PsycARTICLES" (full text database) by opening "Searching: 1 database" dropdown
3. Enter "keyword" search terms
4. Select optional "Limits"
a. Date Range - Last 3 years
b. Select "Document Type" = "peer reviewed journal"
c. Select "Methodology" = "empirical study"
C. 999 results
1. #1 Neurobiology of Aging - use LinkSource to find full text
a. Full text article in Science Direct: "Impairment of the septal..." (Feb. 2013)
b. Options: select pdf - print; save file to your computer or another location; or send an e-mail copy
2. #4 Health Psychology - pdf available in full text (PsycARTICLES)
3. #8 Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair - use LinkSource
a. Full text not available, select journal article ILL to retrieve personal copy
TIPS FOR "BIO BASES" ONLINE SEARCHES IN SCIENCE DIRECT: SAMPLE SEARCH
I. Access Library Home Page--select "Find Books & Articles" - "Search Databases"
A. Choose "Psychology" under "Database by Subject"
1. Open "Psychology" database selections
2. Click "Science Direct College Edition: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection" (full text database)
B. Topic = "Parkinson's Disease" and "Treatment"
1. Select "Advanced Search"
2. Select Journals on top tab
3. Enter "keyword" search terms
4. Open "Source" drop down - select "Subscribed Sources" (very important!)
5. Select "Neuroscience" under "Subject" selections
6. Select "Limit by Document Type" - "Article"
7. Assign "Date Range": 2008 - present
C. 7,489 results
1. Neurobiology of Aging, "Effects of aging..." (Feb. 2011)
2. Options: select pdf - print; save file to your computer or another location; or send an e-mail copy
*Limit the “date range” on each of your database searches to the last five years, 2008-2013
1. Full Text Databases
a. PsycARTICLES [ProQuest] (Choose “specific database”; select limits: “journal articles,” “English only,” and - - “Methodology” = “empirical study”; sort search results by “most recent first” ). Recommended APA title = Behavioral Neuroscience.
b. Science Direct College Edition www.sciencedirect.com (select “Advanced Search” and “Source” = “Subscribed Sources”; good coverage of neurophysiology topics)
c. Academic OneFile (select advanced search; limit to “full text documents” and “peer-reviewed publications”)
d. OmniFile (limit searches to “peer-reviewed” and “full text articles”)
e. PLOS—Public Library of Science (use the advanced search option to locate open-access, peer-reviewed scientific publications)
2. Online Indexes
a. PsycINFO (apply same limits as “PsycARTICLES”)
b. Medline (FirstSearch) (select advanced search; results identify W.C. full text holdings)
3. Journals A to Z List
a. Identifies all Whittier College print and electronic holdings; consult this list to ascertain full text availability. Also presents subject access: under subject heading “Medicine—Internal Medicine--Neuroscience” (99 titles).
4. If the article you need is not available, consider an Interlibrary Loan request. Please allow 5-7 days for your article to arrive after you place the request.
If ILL is not practical, you may be able to visit research libraries in the area (e.g., CSUF and other state university campuses; UCLA Biomed Library; USC libraries; or UC Irvine) and obtain a photocopy of the article you need. Check the library websites for availability before you visit the campus.
Suggested keywords: neuroscience; physiological psychology; neurophysiology; neurotransmitters; psychopharmacology; physiological stress; addiction; schizophrenia.