Skip to Main Content

Kinesiology: Find Articles

A general guide to library resources in the area of Kinesiology

dubSearch: Search Multiple Databases


With dubSearch, you can search multiple databases at once to simultaneously browse articles, books, DVDs, newspapers, and multimedia content.

Off Campus Access

If you are off campus, you can still access research databases. Your my.whittier username and password allows you to access databases from home. 

Try Google Scholar

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

Google Scholar Search

Finding Scholarly Articles in Electronic Databases

What is an electronic database anyway?

The Library has a number of electronic databases for finding articles in journals and some books.  Not everything you find will contain the full text of the articles. Some will only provide abstracts and/or citations. You can search by keywords, subjects, titles, and authors in order to retrieve articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, news magazines, encyclopedias and popular magazines--see below for descriptions of some databases that would be helpful in finding materials for your research.

Suggested Databases for Kinesiology & Nutrition Science

  • Medline Best Bet
    MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE is the online counterpart to MEDLARS® (MEDical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System) that originated in 1964.
  • SPORTDiscus Best Bet
    A research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature. Subject areas covered include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, coaching and education, and sports medicine. Content includes: full text for more than 530 journals with coverage dating back to 1985; books; book chapters; conference proceedings; and journal and magazine articles.
  • Gale Academic OneFile
    Provides full text and abstracts of journal and newspaper articles and book reviews in many disciplines including Physical Sciences, Technology, Medicine, Social Sciences, Art, Theology, Literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 and transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs. Coverage: 1980 – present. [GaleNet]
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage)
    JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
  • OmniFile Full Text Select
    Full text database with nearly 3,000 publications, many of them peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes: applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology.
  • PubMed
    Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine; 1966-present.
  • Science Direct: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
    This database provides full text access to over 900 peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biology, biomedical science, and related life sciences. Coverage: 1995 – current. [ScienceDirect]
  • Wiley Online Library
    Wiley Journals Database hosts an extensive collection of online resources covering the natural sciences, humanities, and social sciences. This site provides access to over 6 million full text articles from 1,500 journals, 20,000 e-books, and hundreds of reference works.
View More Results

I Can't Find the Full-Text. What Now?

So you found the perfect article but the source you are searching only gave you the abstract or the citation. What now? Do you have to search every single database the library owns for just one article? Absolutely not! Use the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library owns the full text of an article. Follow the steps below to find the full text.

  1. Look up the journal title using the Journal Titles A – Z list. If full text is available electronically, you can follow the link to the database containing the journal. If full text is available in print, you can follow the Wardman Print Journals link to see the physical holdings. Note: All print journals are located on the 2nd floor in ABC order.
  2. Copy and paste the article title into Google Scholar. Sometimes you can find the full text freely available online.
  3. If the first two steps are unsuccessful, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form.