Skip to Main Content

Senior Works - Poet Commons

This guide shares information on how Whittier College seniors can deposit and archive their senior works into the Wardman Library's digital repository, Poet Commons. Using Poet Commons will provide digital preservation as well as worldwide exposure to th

FAQ

What is Poet Commons

Poet Commons shares the academic and creative culture of the Whittier College Community. The constantly-growing collection includes student research and scholarship, faculty publications, college history, and the unique materials of the Library's' Archives and Special Collections. Poet Commons is administered by Whittier College's Wardman Library and serves as a digital archive for these materials.


Who can archive their work with Poet Commons?

Students can submit their senior project and occasionally other class content that is already being collected by Poet Commons. Ask your professor to find out if your class work is being archived in Poet Commons. 

Faculty & Emeritus faculty are encouraged to submit their research work performed during their time at Whittier College.  This could include published work (provided copyright guidelines are followed), conference presentations, grant-funded research reports, and unpublished research.


What materials can be contributed?

The work should be scholarly in nature or related to the history or culture at Whittier College.   

Examples of scholarly work:‚Äč

  • Journal articles and essays
  • Conference proceedings, papers and/or presentations
  • White papers and technical reports
  • Research reports from grant-funded projects with Open Access requirements
  • Research data sets
  • Patents
  • Audio/visual presentations, tutorials 
  • Multipart content, e.g. research paper and datasets

What kinds of file formats are accepted?

Poet Commons can archive and make available any file format including text (examples .pdf, .txt), audio (examples .wav, .mp3), video (examples .avi, .mp4, .mov) and other file formats (examples .cad, .png, .xpt, .por). Other file formats can be stored in the repository, however, to ensure the preservation and long-term access of your work, we encourage you to consult the list of preferred and acceptable file formats listed in the Library of Congress’s Recommended Formats Statement. All work must be ADA compliant.


Why should I contribute my work to Poet Commons?

By contributing your work to the repository, you’ll be able to:

Store your work. Your work is digitally preserved with unique, persistent URLs to ensure stability.

Share your ideas. Full-text indexing and discoverability via Google and other search engines means more views and more citations for your work.

Measure your impact. Usage statistics for your work are delivered automatically so you know how frequently your work is being accessed and by whom (geography, and institution).


I want an item withdrawn from Poet Commons. Whom do I contact?

If you would like an item withdrawn from Poet Commons, please contact the Library staff with a request in writing, including the URL of your item and reason for request. Please note that we will remove an item if proof of copyright infringement or complaint for other reasons, such as data protection or alleged research misconduct, is received.  


Who owns copyright to the works in Poet Commons?

Poet Commons does not own copyright to any of the material in the repository. Students own the copyright to their works. Copyright to faculty and staff works may belong to the authors or the publisher and is specified in the record.