Research Guides: Intro to Library Research: Find Data/Stats

Get Help Using Statistical Software

We have a number of books on using SPSS and Excel to analyze data and create statistics. If you need help selecting one of these resources, speak to a librarian.

SPSS is installed on all the Windows PCs in Wardman Library.

United States Data and Statistics

American FactFinder Provides access to population, housing, and industry data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
Data.gov Provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Historical Statistics of the United States Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
List of Federal Agencies with Statistical Programs Try searching for statistical information according to the federal agency that would most likely publish it.
Statistical Abstract of the United States Published since 1878, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Ceased publication in 2012.
USA.gov: Data and Statistics about the U.S. Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Social Explorer

California Data and Statistics

California QuickFacts From the U.S. Census.
California State Data Center The State Census Data Center (SCDC) provides services to state and local government agencies and to the general public. The Center processes machine-readable data files; prepares customized reports; and provides user consultation, data analysis, mapping, and training workshops upon request. The SCDC library houses publications and maps from the decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, the Current Population Survey, and other special and periodic surveys.
Demographic Research Unit (State of California, Department of Finance) The Demographic Research Unit (DRU) of the California Department of Finance is designated as the single official source of demographic data for state planning and budgeting.
List of California State Agencies Try searching for statistical information according to the state agency that would most likely publish it. For example, see especially the Department of Education, Department of Finance, and the Department of Public Health.
Public Policy Institute of California Nonprofit with reports and data on economic development, education, employment and income, environment, government, health, housing, immigration, infrastructure, political participation, population, public finance, social policy, transportation, and water.

International Data and Statistics

GapMinder A tool for visualizing data from a variety of international agencies.
OECD Factbook Statistics The OECD Factbook Statistics database includes data selected from more than 40 statistical databases illustrating the demographic, social, economic and environmental developments for its member countries and major additional countries. The user can easily compare each indicator for a country with those of other OECD countries. OECD Countries covered include Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile,Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Non-OECD countries covered include Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia, and South Africa. Topics covered include population and migration; production and productivity; household income, wealth and debt; globalisation, trade and foreign direct investment (FDI); prices, interest rates and exchange rates; energy and transportation; labour, employment and unemployment; science and technology including research and development (R&D) and the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) sector; environment including natural resoures, water,and air and climate; education resources and outcomes; government expenditures, debt, revenues, taxes, agricultural support and foreign aid; and health status, risk and resources.
UNData Explorer
UNESCO Institute for Statistics The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. The UIS collects the data for more than 200 countries and territories from Member States and international organizations.
UNICEF Statistics and Monitoring Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being.
WorldBank Data An analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics, from GDP to literacy rates and more.

Intro to Library Research

Data vs. Statistics

Finding Data and Statistics

Get Help Using Statistical Software

United States Data and Statistics

California Data and Statistics

International Data and Statistics