Skip to main content

Conducting Genealogy Research: Other Resources

A guide to help genealogy researchers find and use the resources available at Whittier College

Google Books, Internet Archive, & Hathi Trust Digital Library

Google Book Search (below) and the Internet Archive include nearly ten million volumes, with full-text searching capabilities.  Full-text searching means researchers can discover books using key words and phrases within the text, instead of having to rely on titles, authors, or subject terms as in library catalogs. 

Many of the books in Google Book Search and the Internet Archive (and especially those with older copyrights) are available online in their entirety; others are partially readable online, but in many cases, relevant pages will be viewable.

A good way to start your genealogical research is to plug in keywords and surnames.  

  • california genealogy 
  • surname genealogy OR "family tree" ex: greenleaf genealogy OR "family tree"
  • surname born OR died OR married (vital record search)
The HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to digitize and preserve the cultural record. Try searching their Ancestry and Genealogy Collection specifically.  

Local Public Access Facilities

 Whittier Public Library retains the city and county directories at their central location. 

The Whittier Historical Society & Museum maintains an extensive photograph collection, cemetery records, and local family histories. Research services are offered Tuesday - Friday by appointment only.  

Many public libraries subscribe to expensive genealogy databases that are free for library card members to use. Remote access is available for some, while others are in-house library use only.  Make sure to check with your local library to see what materials are available to you. If the person or family you are researching is from a particular region, try the local library in that area as most will have local history collections that can be of great help. 

Below is a list of the subscription genealogy databases that local public libraries provide free access to. Please contact the library directly for additional information.  

General

Resources by State

California Obituaries and Death Records