Skip to main content

Conducting Genealogy Research: Library Resources

A guide to help genealogy researchers find and use the resources available at Whittier College

Searching the Library Catalog

The Whittier Area Genealogical Society (WAGS) collection is fully integrated and searchable through Wardman Library's Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC).  

We recommend starting with an Advanced Search for superior searching capabilities.  You may limit your search to the WAGS collection by selecting that option in the Location field.  

To see all the books in the WAGS collection, limit the search by location and place an * in the first keyword search field and hit submit. 

Library Databases

Wardman Library subscribes to two historical newspaper databases that may be useful to your research. These databases can be freely used within the library at any of the four guest computer terminals. Please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk if needed.  

Microfilm Newspaper Collection

The Library has the following newspaper titles available on microfilm. Click on the title to view the whole record and check for specific holdings. They are located in the grey microform cabinets on the Top Floor in the Periodicals section. The microform reader is located on the Main Floor of the Library. Please ask staff for assistance using the reader.

Free Forms

These sites provide free downloadable genealogy forms to make finding and organizing ancestry a breeze. The forms allow you to carefully copy your ancestor's information and keep that information in your own records. You can also keep track of your research, the data you've collected, records, family trees, family groups and more with these genealogy forms.