Skip to main content

Economics: Find Articles

Research guide for economic students and majors at Whittier College.

dubSearch: Search Multiple Databases


With dubSearch, you can search multiple databases at once to simultaneously browse articles, books, DVDs, newspapers, and multimedia content.

Off Campus Access

If you are off campus, you can still access research databases. Your my.whittier username and password allows you to access databases from home. 

Try Google Scholar

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

Suggested Databases for Economics

I Can't Find the Full-Text. What Now?

So you found the perfect article but the source you are searching only gave you the abstract or the citation. What now? Do you have to search every single database the library owns for just one article? Absolutely not! Use the Journal Titles A-Z list to see if the library owns the full text of an article. Follow the steps below to find the full text.

  1. Look up the journal title using the Journal Titles A – Z list. If full text is available electronically, you can follow the link to the database containing the journal. If full text is available in print, you can follow the Wardman Print Journals link to see the physical holdings. Note: All print journals are located on the 2nd floor in ABC order.
  2. Copy and paste the article title into Google Scholar. Sometimes you can find the full text freely available online.
  3. If the first two steps are unsuccessful, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form.

What If the Library Doesn't Have It?

Getting Articles From Other Libraries

Once you have checked the A-Z listings and you are sure the library does not have access to a journal, you may request an Interlibrary loan.  Your request may take anywhere from 3 or 4 days to a week or more depending on the lending library.  You will receive an email when the article is ready to be picked up at the circulation desk in the library. This service is usually free of charge.  Occasionally a library will want to charge us for providing an article.  If this happens you will be contacted by a librarian who will ask if you are willing to pay a fee to receive your article. Here are the steps:

 

Business Week RSS Feed

Loading

New York Stock Exchange News

Loading

Wal Street Journal

Loading