Psyc 332: Sensation and Perception--an Outline of Information Resources: Fall 2013
Recommended Online Resources:
Indexes: PsycINFO; Medline; PubMed; ERIC
General databases (with full text): Academic OneFile; WilsonOmniFile
Subject-specific full text databases: PsycARTICLES; Science Direct College Edition: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection; Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection; Public Library of Science (PLOS); PubMed Central
Online encyclopedias: Britannica Online; Gale Virtual Reference Library; Oxford Reference Online
Online Search:
I. Topic Selection--potential overlap?:
A. psychological
B. biomedical
II. Finding a book on your topic
A. Consult the online catalog
1. If no title is available at WC, try Link+
a. Select an ILL if Link+ proves unsuccessful
III. Online Resources
A. General information search: Google; Yahoo
1. Google Scholar may be useful (don't pay for articles)
2. Discern results carefully!
a. Wikipedia: is this a reliable site?
b. Other www sites: are these always trustworthy?
B. Library website: you need to navigate this comfortably
1. “Find Databases” – select subject area, "Psychology" or "Health Sciences"
2. Identify potentially useful full text sites: PsycARTICLES; Science Direct: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection; Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection; Public Library of Science (PLOS); or PubMed Central
a. Select "Advanced Search"
b. Apply limits: select "peer-reviewed" journals (i.e., “scholarly publications")
c. Set date range
d. Identify the methodology (i.e., "empirical study") to focus the search
2. “Journal Titles A to Z List” provides information on print and online periodical holdings—details format options and coverage
3. If a full text article is not available on our databases, place an ILL request
4. See the “Subject Research Guides” under the red “Research Help” box on the website (e.g. “Psychology”; "Health Sciences"; or “Biology") for additional information