Skip to main content

Biology: BIO 152 - Biology of Organisms

A guide to information resources in the life sciences

BIO 152 - Biology of Organisms

1.  Wardman Library Homepage

            a.  General Information--"My Library Account"; hours and directions; policies; and staff   directory

            b.  "Find Books & Articles and More"

                        1. Select "Library Catalog"--features include "My Account," chat, access to databases and journals; ILL and Link+

            c.  "Services & Support" for students:  book renewals; description of library services

 

2. Select Biology Research Guide

            a. "Reference Sources"--what is a reference source?  Answer:  dictionaries; encyclopedias, atlases.  The newer the reference source, the better!

            b.  "Find books"--use keyword, title, author, or subject searches;  Link+ offers speedy delivery service  [not applicable for this class]

            c.  "Find articles"--Science Direct: Health and Life Sciences Collection and PubMed (or Medline) are highly recommended sources.  AcademicOneFile and OmniFile Full Text   are good "general" databases   [journal articles only for Bio 152]

            Note:  we are running a trial demonstration of EBSCO Discovery System (EDS)--named "DubSearch" on our homepage

 

3.  dubSearch--EDS  searches multiple databases simultaneously

            a.  Search topic:  "plants and salt tolerance"     search results = 55,828

                        1.  Limit--"peer reviewed"  "last ten years"  Source type = Academic Journals search results = 10,174

                                    i. Results:  Planta full text

                                    ii.   SpringerLink  Journal of Genetics  $39.95 per article

 

                        2.  ILL Request

                                    i.  #3 - Plant Molecular Biology   ILL request

                                                a. Citation loads automatically

                                                            1. Enter $0  for the amount you are willing to pay

                                                            2. Enter a date, "To cancel if not filled by"

                                                            2.  Article will sent  to your campus mail box

                        3.  Limit - "Full text"    search results =  7,488

                                    i.  ScienceDirect Health & Life Science Collection - Acta Oecologica

                                                a.  Click "download" pdf to open print - e-mail - download functions

                       

Demonstrate dubSearch features: 

            1. This system searches all of our online resources plus the library catalog

            2. Useful limits:  date; peer-reviewed; full text; source types  (e.g.  "all results"; books; academic journals; news; magazines; conference materials)

            3.  Describe Link Resolver

 

4. Searching ScienceDirect:  "salt tolerance of plants"

            a. Select “Advanced Search”

            b.  Refine you search:  check “Journals” and most importantly, “Subscribed publications” This directs you to our full text holdings in the “Health and Life Sciences Collection”

            c.  Limit by years:  2004- present

            d. Search Results = 26,626 full text articles

                        i. Select "Open Folder; Print: or E-mail" results