Skip to main content

Biology: BIO 100 - Intro to Biology

A guide to information resources in the life sciences

BIO 100 - Introduction to Biology

BIOLOGY 100--INTRODUCTION TO BIOLOGY:  GUIDE TO INFORMATION RESOURCES--Sept. 2014

 

1.  Wardman Library Homepage

            a.  General Information--"My Library Account"; hours and directions; policies; and staff   directory

            b.  "Find Books & Articles and More"

                        1. Select "Library Catalog"--features include "My Account," chat, access to databases and journals; ILL and Link+

            c.  "Services & Support" for students:  book renewals; description of library services

 

 

2. Select Biology Research Guide

            a. "Reference Sources"--what is a reference source?  Answer:  dictionaries; encyclopedias, atlases.  The newer the reference source, the better!

            b.  "Find books"--use keyword, title, author, or subject searches;  Link+ offers speedy delivery service

            c.  "Find articles"--Science Direct: Health and Life Sciences Collection and PubMed (or Medline) are highly recommended sources.  AcademicOneFile and OmniFile Full Text   are good "general" databases

            Note:  we are running a trial demonstration of EBSCO Discovery System (EDS)--named "DubSearch" on our homepage

 

3.  dubSearch--EDS  searches multiple databases simultaneously

            a.  Search topic:  "immunization education"     search results = 23,708

                        1.  Limit--"peer reviewed"  [note assignment = 10 primary research articles required]       search results = 2,238

                                    i.  OmniFile - AmJrPubHealth

                                    ii.  ScienceDirect - Preventative Medicine

                                    v.  ILL request

                        2.  Limit - "Full text"      search results = 1,766

                                    v.  "Vaxed Project..." - select open access

                                    x.  "Influence of maternal education..."     Print--E-mail--Download

                       

Demonstrate dubSearch features: 

            1. This system searches all of our online resources plus the library catalog

            2. Useful limits:  date; peer-reviewed; full text; source types  (e.g.  "all results"; books;  academic journals; news; magazines; conference materials)

            3.  Describe Link Resolver

 

4. Searching ScienceDirect

            a. Select “Advanced Search”

            b.  Refine you search:  check “Journals” and most importantly, “Subscribed publications”. This directs you to our full text holdings in the “Health and Life Sciences Collection”

            c.  Limit by years