ANIMAL BEHAVIOR RESEARCH TOPICS: AN OUTLINE OF INFORMATION RESOURCES Fall, 2013
I. Type of topic:
A. biological
B. historical
C. biographical
II. Finding a Book on Your Topic
A. See the online catalog
1. If no title is available at WC, try Link+
a. Select an ILL if Link+ is unsuccessful
III. Online Resources
A. General search: Google
1. Pay attention to your sources!
a. Wikipedia: is this a reliable site?
b. Other www sites: are these always trustworthy?
B. Library website: familiarize yourself!
` 1. Open “Find Books & Articles”
2. Select “Search Databases”
a. Select “Subject Databases” – "Biology"
b. Search full text databases: "Science Direct: Health & Life Sciences Collection"; Academic OneFile; JSTOR; Public Library of Science (PLOS); Wilson OmniFile
i. Apply search limits: select “full text” and/or peer-reviewed (i.e., “scholarly”) journals to narrow your search
3. “Journal Titles A to Z List” provides information on print and online periodical holdings—details coverage and format options
4. Refer to specific “Subject Research Guides” (e.g. “Biology,”* or “History,” or “Psychology” )
IV. Recommended Databases
A. General Database Coverage: Academic OneFile; Britannica Online; NewsBank (for current newspapers); Oxford Reference Online; Gale Virtual Reference Library; Wilson OmniFile
1. Biology Topic Searches: recommended databases – Academic OneFile; Medline; Public Library of Science (PLOS); Science Direct College Edition; WilsonOmniFile
2. Historical: Google Scholar; Historic New York Times Collection; JSTOR; Project Muse
3. Biographical: Biography in Context; JSTOR; NewsBank; PsycINFO
