With dubSearch, you can search multiple databases at once to simultaneously browse articles, books, DVDs, newspapers, and multimedia content.
If you are off campus, you can still access research databases. Your my.whittier username and password allows you to access databases from home.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
This page is divided into three sections:
Return to top menu
So what's a database? Simply, databases are online indexes to articles. Originally, databases provided basic information about articles, and sometimes included a helpful abstract (summary) of particular articles. Increasingly, more and more databases contain instantly accessible full-text articles, although many still contain just abstracts and/or citation information. In this latter case, jump to section 3 on this page in order to learn how to get the journal that contains the article you need.
Researchers can search databases by keywords, subjects, titles, and authors, among other criteria. The library has a number of databases to help you find articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, and popular magazines. Browse the databases at Wardman Library here. (Or, from the library's homepage, click on the purple find books & articles button, then the Search Databases link.)
The list in the following section, compiled by Mary Augugliaro and Joanna Perez, includes useful databases for Political Science students. A my.whittier username and password are required.
If you have discovered the title of an article in a database that does not provide full-text to the journal it's from, or you have noted the title of an article you want cited in another source, you'll need to determine whether Wardman Library holds or has access to the journal in which the article was published.
While it's true that some journals are listed in the library catalog, the most comprehensive list of Wardman Library's journals holdings is accessible through the "Journal Titles A-Z" index. This is the quickest way to figure out if the library holds a particular journal. Follow these steps to use this resource:
If your search produced no results then you may try to request the article through an interlibrary loan (see the following section).
Don't panic! Once you have checked the Journal Titles A-Z listings thoroughly and you are sure the library does not own or have access to a journal, you can request the article you need by arranging an interlibrary loan (ILL).
Your request may take anywhere from three to four days to a week or more depending on the lending library. You will receive an email when the article is ready to be picked up at the circulation desk in the library.