History: World History Links

"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."

"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."

"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."

HLAS is a bibliography that comprises records of books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers related to Latin American studies.

An international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American history. The site comprises a discussion list, reviews of scholarly monographs, and external links.

Although somewhat Europe-centric, IMHS's 19C Latin America index includes authoritative external links to secondary sources as well as primary documents.

Although somewhat Europe-centric, IMHS's 20C Latin America index includes authoritative external links to secondary sources as well as primary documents.

"[D]rawn from the holdings of the John Carter Brown Library. The AEAI assists scholars in their quest for contemporary images to illustrate their research findings and to facilitate the study of historical images in their own right and in proper context. ... The database has about 7,500 images and is still growing. Images ... are accompanied by extensive bibliographical and descriptive information and come from books in most European, and some indigenous, languages from before circa 1825."

Users can browse this gateway site by country or one of several topics, including Economy, Education, Georgraphy & Environment, Government, Humanities, Internet & Computing, Libraries & Reference, Media & Communication, Recreation, Science, Social Sciences, and Society & Culture.

An online collection from Harvard's Widener Library of over 5,000 digitized Latin American pamphlets produced in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

The Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Data Base, 'MOxLAD', is a partnership between the Economic and Social History Programme (PHES), of the Universidad de la República, Montevideo, and the Latin American Centre and the Department of International Development, Oxford University. The objective of the partnership is to expand and update the database previously known as OxLAD, and develop related activities. The database contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the twentieth century up to today. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source. The data presented in MOxLAD have been collected with a view toward providing comprehensive coverage while ensuring as much consistency and inter-country comparability as possible in the definition, coverage, and valuation of the series. The initial goal was systematic coverage of the twentieth century, but this is now being expanded, both backwards to 1870 and forwards to 2010.

A comprehensive online database that "offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects." Organized by topic, this resource also aggregates external links related to the study of Latin America and Latin American history.

A list of selected Inrernet resources created and maintained by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

"British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles."

Pathé Newsreels were produced from 1910 until the 1970s, when production of newsreels was for the most part discontinued. Pathé News today is known as British Pathé and its archive of over 90,000 reels is fully digitized and online.

"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."

A comprehensive compendium of primary documents, organized by country and topic. "These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible."

Primary sources and links vetted by the librarians of the University of Washington; mainly organized by country, the site also includes links related to World War I and also those of general interest.

A first-rate web resources index that covers topics in modern European history, including Renaissance, Reformation, Colonialism, Enlightenment, French Revolution, and Industrial Revolution, among others.

Comprises primary sources from the Revolution, including some 338 texts and 245 images.

A fully searchable Internet archive comprising almost all the major texts by Karl Marx, Friederich Engels, and major texts by James Connolly, Daneil DeLeon, Hal Draper, Georgi Dimitrov, Alexandra Kollontai, Antonio Labriola, Lenin, Anatoly Lunacharsky, Rosa Luxemburg, Mao Tsetung, Jose Carlos Mariategui, William Morris, David Riazanov, Anton Pannekoek, Max Shachtman, Stalin, and Trotsky.

Comprises more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from Viking sagas to middle nineteenth century overland diaries.

A comprehensive exemplar of a digital repository, organized by topics in American social-cultural history. "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions."

"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes thirteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs."

Although somewhat Europe-centric, Fordham's index of web resources includes some topics in United States history, including Early US, US Civil War, US Immigration, 19C US Culture, US Power, and US Society.

"[D]rawn from the holdings of the John Carter Brown Library. The AEAI assists scholars in their quest for contemporary images to illustrate their research findings and to facilitate the study of historical images in their own right and in proper context. ... The database has about 7,500 images and is still growing. Images ... are accompanied by extensive bibliographical and descriptive information and come from books in most European, and some indigenous, languages from before circa 1825.

The official website of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), with information for researchers, links to digitized primary documents, and second-to-none online exhibits covering select topics in American history.

"The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions ... throughout California." Many collections now have digital components that are accessible online.

The Presidential Library Explorer provides a visualization of the National Archives' Presidential Libraries organized by size of textual records in their holdings. The Libraries, which all have scans available in the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) Catalog, are colored blue with a darker blue box within each record group box that indicates the amount of digital copies available for that record group. You can toggle between percentages and numbers.

An aggregator with links to external sites organized by topics in U.S. history.