Skip to main content

English Language and Literature: ENGL course guides

A guide to doing English language and literature research at Bonnie Bell Wardman Library.

Created in Fall 2009

INTD 100 - Durbin

INTRODUCTION TO INFORMATION LITERACY                                                             INTD 100 - Prof. Kate Durbin    Sept. 2018

 

Research Help:  refer to the “English Language and Literature” Research Guide

A   Find Books

  1. Online catalog:  search “fairy tales” by keyword (also author—“Carter, Angela”)
  1. Record description features:  location; call #; status (i.e. “not checked out” or “online”?)
  2. Print and eBook formats – to check-out an eBook, create an EBSCO Account
  1. My Library Account/Renew Books
  2. Course Reserves
  3. Link +
  4. Interlibrary Loan/ILL – for journal articles and non-Link+ book requests

 

B  Find Articles

  1. Google vs Google Scholar  
  1. (scholar.google.com)   Sample search:  “monsters”
  2. Full text format -  pdf or html?
  3. “Citation style” - MLA
  4. “Related articles”
  1. DubSearch – “ EBSCO Discovery Service = EDS”
  1. Select “Advanced Search”
  2. Sample search: “contemporary fairy tales”
  3. Limits:  
  1. Peer review—also intro to “Primary & Secondary” sources
  2. Full text
  3. Date – “last thirty years – 1988-2018”
  4. Language = “English”
  1. Content Provider— (lower left corner of Search Results screen) provides level of database activity
  2. “Click to request via ILL” – article not available at WC: select ILL form

                    3  Saving Search Results - Options

  1. Print
  2. E-mail
  3. Download
  4. From Public Terminals – flash drive
  5. Other options – Cloud; shared drives, etc.

                    4   Selecting Databases – see “Databases A-Z” 

  1. Literature Resource Center—recommended site for INTD 100
  2. Film & Television Literature Index (also for film studies - “IMDB”)
  3. SocINDEX with Full Text
  4. Newsbank
  5. JSTOR
  6. OmniFile Full Text Select or Academic OneFile – general coverage

 

To search for specific journal titles:  select “Journal Titles A-Z ” aka “Publication Finder”

 

Also Recommended:  KANOPY streaming video service offers 25,000 films and videos, including award-winning documentaries, cult film classics, and Criterion Collection films. Access Kanopy from the “Find Books (and Electronic Books, or Films)”page.

 

 

Joseph Dmohowski

 Serials & Electronic Resources Librarian 

Wardman Library

3:00 – 4:20 pm Section:  September 25, 2018                       

Librarian

David McCaslin's picture
David McCaslin
Contact:
Wardman Library
562-907-4829